I’d rather walk through the storm with you

image
Winter in Scotland can be brutal sometimes. Yesterday morning was one of those mornings. Cold, wet, very windy and still pretty dark as the children needed to leave for school. So even though her school is, at most, ten minutes walk from our house, I offered my little six-year-old the chance to take the car.

‘No’ she insisted. ‘I’d rather walk through the storm with you.’

So we wrapped up, zipped up and headed outside.

There were times when she was almost blown away. But we held hands tightly and neither of us planned on letting go.

There were times we could hardly see where we were going. But we just kept walking, one step at a time, encouraging each other every step.

There were moments I thought we should turn back and climb into the warmth of the house or the dryness of the car. But we had a determination and a purpose and the destination was within reach. It may have only been a ten minute walk but there were moments it felt like eternity. The intensity of the wind, the driving rain in our faces and the cold taking our breath away. ‘Keep going’ she told me and keep going we did.

Of course we arrived. We were a little windswept, our clothes were wet and our faces red from the cold. But as I left her in the safety of her school and walked back home myself through that storm I realised the value of walking that day.

My little daughter was gaining strength, courage, determination, and the gift of encouragement this morning that going to school the easier way would not have taught her. And she chose to do that of her own free will. She wanted to go through the storm with me because she loves me.

I feel like I have been walking through a storm like that for years. When I found out my precious children were not like other children it felt like I was being beaten down by a gale force wind. Constant appointments, diagnosis and fighting for what they need feeling like cold, icy rain forever falling on top of me. The waking up every morning facing the same pressures of caring like the darkness of a cold winters morning that never seems to end. The not knowing the future like the freezing cold temperatures numbing you to the pain.

It is so much easier to get through the storm holding someone’s hand. There is strength that comes from the encouragement of another little voice saying ‘keep going’. There is a love that grows deeper, a bond that gets stronger and a determination that grows continually by facing the storms of life with another one.

Don’t go it alone.

I know that having you all alongside me is what is making this thing called life easier.

Everyone one of you means so much to me.

Don’t let go of my hand please…because I’d rather walk through the storm with you.

9 thoughts on “I’d rather walk through the storm with you

  1. Thank you for writing this, your blog is brilliant and I am amazed you have the time to write about your beautiful family , you are gifted in your writings. My daughter turned four at Christmas and on Monday was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder, I was expecting it, reading your blog earlier helped. Thank you xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

