How did we get here?

As I sat holding my frightened 5 year old daughter in the back of an ambulance at 2:30 in the morning, for a split second, in the midst of fear and exhaustion, I wondered how exactly did we get here?

Here I was giving details of my daughter calmly to a stranger in a green uniform when all my body craved was sleep. I would say adrenalin was taking over, but medically this is impossible as I live with a potentially life threatening condition which means my body does not produce stress hormones. Moments earlier I had been lying in my bed praying silent prayers. It seemed at that moment they were not to be answered.
Naomi had been struggling for the last 24 hours with nose bleeds. At the tender age of 5 she had experienced them before. But nothing on this scale. I had already been in to her 4 times since she had been put to bed. But they just kept restarting. It was getting scary, for her and for me, and for my husband. Dad was becoming frustrated that his baby girl was not able to let him help. So he let me deal with this one. But this one was never ending. And then she started vomiting up blood. Again and again. I have never been so terrified. So I called for an ambulance.

So that was how we ended up at accident and emergency in the middle of the night with one of my babies.

20140430-214038.jpg
As I look in the mirror at the scratches and bruises on my neck caused by my five year old non verbal son I once again wonder, how did we get here?

How did we get to the place where he punches us, kicks us, bites us, scratches us and throws things at us? When did it all start? When did I start dreading reading his home/school diary because his behaviour has become so challenging? Sometimes things just gradually creep up over time until you realise it has become overwhelming. One unpaid bill soon leads to another, one moment of shouting at your children soon becomes the norm, one day giving in to their food fads leads to constant demands for chocolate for breakfast. One day Isaac having one tantrum and finding it funny to kick something has lead to him repeating this behaviour often. One reaction from someone, negative or positive, has lead to challenging behaviours becoming a daily occurrence. One day having mashed potato for dinner leads to constant demands for the same food to be repeated. Then one day we had no mashed potato left.

So that was how I ended up with bruises and scratches on my neck from my five year old autistic son.

20140430-215045.jpg

20140430-215053.jpg
As I find myself in yet another meeting with professionals discussing my daughters personal needs regarding going to the toilet I once again wonder to myself, how exactly did we get here?

With only 7 weeks left until she finishes nursery and only 4 months until she starts school, yet here we are talking with a group of professionals about strategies that might help her come out of nappies. Did I ever think I would have 5 year old children still wearing nappies day and night? No. Did I ever think I would need professional help to potty train a child? No. Did I expect both my children to have additional needs? Not at all. She seemed so perfect at birth. And later on I just thought she was slow to walk. In fact, I had very few concerns about my little princess until she started nursery school at 2 and a half. It was quite a shock to realise that my beautiful blue eyed girl had autism, and with it bowel and bladder issues, high anxiety and gross movement difficulties. It is funny how you soon adjust to talking about your child to professionals like it is a daily occurrence. In fact, for me, it pretty much is a daily occurrence now. You get used to the paperwork, and the forms and constant phone calls. You even refer to some people on first name terms like you have known them since school. You learn to ignore some of their ideas, you learn to adapt other suggestions and you know who to chase up for the missing paperwork. You learn the talk and the lingo and the laws you need to quote. And even though it breaks your heart, you learn to call and order nappies for your school aged child because you know you are still going to need them. You’re on to the fourth attempt at potty training now and you know it is going to be, like everything else, a long journey ahead.

So that is how I am still discussing pants and toilet cards and reward charts for potty training my 5 year old.

How did we get here? I still ask that every time we visit yet another hospital, or visit the dentist or eye clinic as we do every six weeks, or when we now add in the ENT referral for Naomi. If the NHS did reward cards like MacDonalds do for their hot drinks I would be high on caffeine by now. It feels like we have our own parking space at the clinics these days.

Life happens. Sometimes it can feel overwhelming. Sometimes it is relentless. Sometimes you just find yourself in a place you never dreamt you would be. But it is ok. If someone had told me I would have been in any of these places this week when I first gave birth to my beautiful twins in 2008 I would have struggled to believe you. It is a journey. We cope with today, look to the future, pray, hope and keep on going. One day soon I will be back on the mountaintop celebrating with my children in some new amazing thing they have achieved. And I will enjoy it all the more for having been through these valleys.

And you know what, even in the great times I will still wonder, how did we get here?

How? Because through it ALL God is there. That is how I got here and that is how I will get out of here too.

(Naomi lost a lot of blood but was released from hospital that night and is now recovering. We have strategies in place at home and school to deal with Isaac’s behaviour and there is some minor progress towards toilet training one of the twins)

6 thoughts on “How did we get here?

  1. (((HUGS))) Heres hoping that the school diary will soon be slightly more positive about behviour and that ENT provide some useful suggestions/strategies for Naomi. And that toilet training doesn’t cause the constant stress it did last time

    Like

  2. Thank you for having the courage to be so honest. My feelings and life are reflected in your words I just wish that there were more people and safe places to say these things out loud. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

