The battles and the breakthroughs

I thank God for the mountains
and I thank God for the valleys
I thank him for the storms he brought me through
For if I’d never had a problem
I wouldn’t know that God could solve them
I wouldn’t know what faith in God could do
Andre Crouch song ‘Through it all’

Can I really thank God when I see my 5 year old son self harming? Seeing him bite his own hand as easily as he bites into a piece of fruit? Seeing his tears of sadness at the pain but yet having no understanding that he himself is causing it. Can I thank God for the intensity of crying and upset he displays every time I start to cook a meal because he has no concept of waiting or cooking? Or seeing the bruises and the seizures and the scars from his constant falls? Can I thank God as I watch his frustration at being unable to communicate or understand?

self harm    bites      movie31     holding isaac

There is no easy answers sometimes. But I know that without these moments of struggle, of battle in our lives, we really don’t appreciate the breakthroughs when they come. If your child has never self harmed you don’t thank God that they went four hours without biting themselves. If your child has fluent speech you take new words for granted. Because that isn’t a breakthrough for you. But for me these would be a miracles.

So I pray. And hold my son. And believe for breakthrough even when it seems impossible. I can’t give up hope. I can’t stop believing.

And to keep my focus I look for moments of peace. Moments of progress in both children that keep that hope and faith alive. Treasured moments in time that make me think about the future and the fact that there will always be tomorrow no matter how hard today seems.

Moments just like this:

school bag

When Naomi had a visit from the Head Teacher of our local school to gift her a school bag in preparation for her starting in August. Oh be still my beating heart. Because this baby is growing up. Unlike her twin brother she has some understanding of what lies ahead. And we can ‘play’ school, read books about it, and even visit. To see her excitement rekindles that faith again. This little one does not think for a minute how her very existence is a miracle. She does not dwell on the support networks that will need to be in place to ensure she is fully supported in school. She sees a new bag, new clothes, new adventures. And I need some of that innocent faith of hers.

As I travel with these two little miracles there will always be battles, and bumps and moments when things look impossible. But their very existence was birthed on the belief in the God of the impossible. And so I thank God for every valley we travel through because it is in the valleys my faith is grown. And having been through many valleys I can testify that God is a God of miracles. and faith in God will carry us through…

This week I made my first ever film. In yet another week of heavy meetings, intense moments of holding my hurting son, yet beautiful moments of seeing excitement twinkle in the eyes of my daughter, I truly thank God for every battle and every breakthrough and for bringing me to this moment in time:
This is how we got to where we are now:

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=aEGBjOAEIYo

Please continue to travel with us in this journey and experience the mountains and valleys we have yet to come.
Faithmummy x

5 thoughts on “The battles and the breakthroughs

  1. Miriam I know how hard it is for you both and for Isaac as he cannot express his needs. The constant crying because he is unable to speak. The frustration for Naomi as she so beautifully protects him and tries to understand his needs. You are one very special mum and Nigel is a fantastic father. I love watching him with Isaac as he takes his hands and leads him to where he wants to go always Daddies Pal. I admire both of you and love you all so much. I have 5 wonderful grandchildren and am so blessed to have you in my life. Love and hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just a question as I’m new here really…do you read adult (and now child) autistic bloggers? They have been an invaluable resource to me….one autistic is one autistic but read enough they each share things that are possibly my child making a bigger picture. If you don’t and would like too I can give you some

    Like

    • Yes I read a lot about autism both from professionals, parents of autistic children and people with autism too. And I know so many people with autism too. They all give me possible explanations for my sons behaviour but it would be perfect if he could tell me what was feeling. Thanks for reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

